Oh, Brave New World

With such people in it.

It’s nice to know that sexism is still alive and well in the world. And you’re thinking ‘well, of course it is’. I know that, deep down I really did; but I never really had to think about it.

I am female. Let’s just get that out there. But I was always one of the guys, never really treated any differently from my male friends–at least from my perspective. As I get older and as I view the world through more weary eyes, I start to notice things. And then, because of societal conditioning I start second guessing what my eyes are seeing.

But I’m pretty damn certain that one of my co-workers got the shaft because she’s female. Long story short: She applied for a supervisor position and was passed over by someone (male) who had been with the company less time and was still in a part-time position. There are other factors, like he’s almost twice her age. And I’m not sure what kind of previous experience he brought to the table in the interview. But what rubs me the wrong way is within our retail store there are no females within leadership positions. All of the managers and supervisors are male, while half the employee population is female.

That set off some alarms.

I don’t intend to make this particular job a career, so what ultimately happens in the long run at the business has nothing to do with me, however, as a woman I am outraged on her behalf because I see an injustice here and it’s much bigger than her, if I am correct.

I do have to ask myself if this is my battle? On the one hand, it is because I am female and feminist rage is rising because there is injustice and, well, injustice is bad. On the other hand, picking this fight will not make my life or her life any easier, and unlike her I don’t need this job. Nor do I wish to cause undo stress on someone I consider a great coworker and a friend.

And in the end will it actually accomplish anything? Those in power who are keeping the female workers from leadership positions will not have an epiphany and realize the error in their ways. If anything it’ll reaffirm whatever archaic beliefs about womankind they have.

I think a lot of the problem is I’ve never had a situation so blatantly in front of me. I don’t enjoy having to think about the fact that there are people in my life with warped views… Even worse if they are unaware that the views are in their heads.