Playing in Make-up

I felt like ass this morning when I got up for work. Trudged my way in, got done and came home.

I took a shower and then played in my make-up for a little while. I love eye-shadow and lipstick. I honestly think my lips are one of my best features and lipstick colors are accessories to me. And I’m sure you’re wondering why I’m bothering to tell you about my make-up choices for the day…

Well, when I got home from various runnings-around I watched a documentary called America the Beautiful and it was about our cultural views on beauty. Who has it, who doesn’t, and how they market to those who “don’t” in order to get them to buy products.

Lots of stuff about make-up and how it’s not regulated by the FDA the way we think it is. At the time of the film only four products had been banned in the use of make-up by the FDA in the USA… In Europe over 450 products had been deemed toxic if used in make-up and banned. Think about that for a second, I mean, really think about it.

I love make-up… It’s like face paint I’m allowed to wear all the time in public, not just because I go to the fair and have someone paint a butterfly on my face. I get to come up with different looks, decorate and accessorize and make myself feel pretty.

And I suppose in that last statement is the rub. The whole point of the documentary. And I see all these women the guy talks to and I see all their self-esteem issues and I think ‘why don’t they love themselves?’ And I have to wonder if my playing in make-up in front of my mirror lumps me in the same category as those women who’s very opinion and self-worth is wrapped up in this idea of beauty.

I’d like to think it’s not. I can stand in front of a mirror naked and pick apart my flaws until I just want to cry or I can stand there, grin, and find beauty in what I’m seeing.

I’m always telling people that I don’t dress up or put make-up on for anyone but myself. And I think that’s true for a lot of women. They use those things so they can feel pretty and beautiful in their own skin. But what’s making them feel that way isn’t their own skin at all, and that’s where I hope I differ. I liken make-up to a new outfit. It’s great, gives you a fresh new look, but ultimately gets filed in with the rest of your clothes.

And at this point, I’m just rambling and really have no point to make. People, love yourselves, I guess, is what I’m saying. You’re beautiful and unique and you shouldn’t let society tell you anything different.